Treatment/Control area Districts Reason for selection Districts affected by redistricting between 2011 and 2016
Treatment (SMGL Phase 1) Kabarole, Kamwenge, Kibaale, Kyenjojo Treatment area Redistricting did not occur between the 2011 and 2016 surveys
Control 1 Hoima, Kyankwanzi, Kiboga, Mubende, Kyegegwa, Kiruhura, Ibanda, Rubirizi All districts contiguous to the treatment area, except three districts with a similar intervention Kiboga divided into Kiboga and Kyankwanzi
Control 2 Control 1 plus Bundibugyo, Kasese and Ntoroko All districts contiguous to the treatment area Bundibugyo divided into Ntoroko and Bundibugyo
Control 3 All districts outside of SMGL Phase 1 districts* For comparison of treatment area against the rest of the country Nationally, 10 regions were reconfigured into 15 regions; however, the total number of districts remained the same (112)